pic-a-day: numbers

Monday, May 14: Here’s my pic-a-day challenge.  It’s my wall calendar from the Historical Association of Oman, with the month of August 2012 showing, in both English and Arabic numbers.  I’m not really sure what these Arabic numbers refer to as they don’t match up with the English days.  It’s possible they might refer to which day of Ramadan it is.

The picture on top is MONSOON IN DHOFAR, which is the region where Salalah is in the south of Oman. I will miss the monsoon in Dhofar this August, because I am flying out of Muscat on Thursday, August 2 to return home for one month to my home in Oakton, Virginia.  There I will, as the Koreans always say, “take a rest” from my tough year of teaching abroad, spend time with my children, and probably go on a family vacation to Deep Creek Lake in western Maryland.

On August 28, I will fly back to Oman, and two days later I will get on another plane to Athens, Greece.  I am counting the days……..

the month of August.... number of days: 31 :-)

the month of August…. number of days: 31 🙂

4 thoughts on “pic-a-day: numbers

      • I can’t imagine being in another country away from my family. Good on you! I often ponder if I would want to teach in another country. I can only imagine how much you are longing to see your own children again.

        And Athens…. there is nothing to say on that except…jealous!

      • Yes, Sherene, it is difficult, but they are 19, 21 and 28 and are mostly busy with their own lives. I talk to them often on Skype and my sons came to visit me in Oman for over 3 weeks in January. I really do look forward to seeing them! (… and then of course escaping to Greece!!)

Leave a Reply

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

John SterVens' Tales

Thee Life, Thee Heart, Thee Tears

Set SerenDestiny in Motion

"Lead the Life You're Meant to Live"

Romancing Reality

Linda Grashoff's Photography Adventures

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

eatprayjade

eating and traveling in pursuit of la dolce vita

Japan Wonders

Exploring Japan's popular tourist spots and off-the-beaten path

A lot from Lydia

You can learn a lot from Lydia...(It's a song, not a promise.)

Ink Arts by Carol

My site for offering my alcohol ink arts

I see Beauty everyday

Blessed be the ones that see beauty where others see nothing

BOOKING IT

Debra's Excellent Adventures in Reading and Travel

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

PIRAN CAFÉ

Notebooks from a trampfest. Travel tips, tales and images, online since 2006.

Word Wabbit

Wrestless Word Wrestler

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

